Working Together for Excellence in Fieldwork Education

The FLOTEC award recipients are being honored by the Florida Occupational Therapy Educational Consortium (FLOTEC) in recognition of their Dedication, Commitment and Service to Occupational Therapy Fieldwork Education. Every year FLOTEC selects fieldwork educators from across the state, and honors them with the Award of Excellence. Award recipients have been nominated and selected by an academic program or students as a fieldwork educator who exhibits superior communication, interpersonal behaviors, professional and teaching behaviors. An effective supervisor is one who is able to:

* Clarify expectation of supervision at outset
* Establish and maintain boundaries
* Teach practical skill
* Maintain membership in his/her state and national association
* Be accessible and available to student
* Encourage students to explore new ideas and techniques (think outside the box)
* Use and promote reflective practice
* Show enthusiasm for Occupational Therapy
* Foster autonomy and independence
* Model professional, ethical behavior
* Assess student’s learning needs
* Accept values and celebrate diversity
* Be Aware of own limitations and strengths
* Work collaboratively with students- Listen more than talk to students
* Maintain open and honest relationships with student
* Convey a supportive and caring attitude.
We would like to thank the award recipients for providing exceptional learning environments for occupational therapy students in our state. The Award of Excellence is presented annually at the FOTA Conference during the Opening ceremony.

2009 Recipients:

Cindy Cooley, MSOTR/L, Independent Living Inc, Tampa

Monica Weller, MS, OTR/L, Therapy Spot, Inc, Boca Raton

Marsha Hoffner, OTR/L, Life Care of Winter Haven, Winter Haven

Rosemary Boisvert, MS, OTR/L, CAP, Southwest Florida Addictions Services, Ft. Myers

Beth Pakulski COTA/L Florida Hospital, Orlando

Leni Ulrich, OTR/L, Pediatric Therapy Associates, Plantation

Darren Taylor OT/L, Manor Pines Convalescent Center, Ft. Lauderdale

Lisa Walley, OTR/L, CMLDT, Florida Hospital-Fish Memorial, Orange City

2008 Recipients:

Kelleen Isom: Auburndale

2007 Recipients:


2006 Recipients:

Megan Minor: Cape Coral

Mark Dupuy: Cape Coral

Julie Gaby: Orlando

Patty Helsel: Gainesville

Suzanne McKay: Orlando

Sheri Johns: Orlando

John McDonough: Weston

Daniel Coyle: Bradenton

Norma Curry: Lakeland

Sylvia Young: Tallahassee

Darren Taylor: Ft. Lauderdale

Helen Hernandez: Hialeah